Asian Carp Director To Help Honor Indiana Conservationists

Zionsville, Ind. (May 16, 2012) – On May 19th, the Indiana Wildlife Federation (IWF) will recognize six Indiana conservationists, and two conservation organizations at its annual Conservation Awards Banquet at Spring Mill State Park.

John Goss, Asian Carp Director at the White House Council on Environmental Quality, will be the keynote speaker at the banquet, providing an update on recent efforts to curb the migration of Asian carp to the Great Lakes.

Every year, IWF honors Indiana residents and organizations that have made significant contributions to conservation and environmental issues.

Governor Mitch Daniels leads the list of award winners that includes a state senator, coalition of government agencies, and other conservation advocates.

All of this year’s winners pursue a common goal to improve Indiana’s environment and make our state a better place for wildlife. Any IWF member can nominate an individual or group for an award, and IWF’s directors select winners from the pool of nominees.

The Conservation Awards Banquet is open to the public. Find more information about the Awards Banquet at

The 2012 Indiana Wildlife Federation Conservation Award Winners:

Governor Mitch Daniels is receiving the Theodore Roosevelt Award for his dedication to conservation as demonstrated by large-scale projects such as the Goose Pond acquisition, Healthy Rivers INitiative, and Bicentennial Nature Trust.

Senator David Long, from Fort Wayne, will receive the Legislative Conservationist of the Year award for his work to stop legislation that would have allowed canned hunting in Indiana.

Angela Hughes, government relations associate for The Nature Conservancy, has earned the Conservation Communicator of the Year award for her work leading the Indiana Conservation Alliance and Conservation Day at the State House every year.

The Conservation Cropping System Initiative group (CCSI), comprises Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts, Natural Resources Conservation Service, Indiana State Department of Agriculture – Division of Soil Conservation, Purdue Cooperative Extension Service, State Soil Conservation Board, and other partners.

CCSI has earned IWF’s Agriculture Conservation Award for its work promoting environmentally-friendly farming techniques including continuous no-till/strip-till farming, using cover crops, precision farming, and nutrient and pest management. USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service and ISDA State Soil Conservation Board fund the group’s work.
Jack Corpuz, Indianapolis, will also receive the Theodore Roosevelt Award for his years of work with state officials to improve Indiana’s hunting and fishing license programs, which generate revenue for conservation programs.

Jeanette Wilson, Indiana Department of Transportation, will receive the President’s Award, a prize given at the discretion of IWF’s president. Wilson has been instrumental in supporting efforts to reduce mowing and increase native plant species on Indiana’s roadsides, practices that save the state money and helps wildlife.

The Conservation Educator of the Year, Nicole Messacar, teaches children about wildlife and conservation issues through her role as Education Coordinator for the LaPorte County Soil & Water Conservation District.

North Dearborn Conservation Club, IWF’s Conservation Club of the Year, has educated local youth about safe hunting practices since 1937.

Phil Cox, this year’s Paul Bunner Conservationist of Year, worked tirelessly to several hundred acres of prairie at the Newport Army Depot. His work fostered the return of several state-endangered grassland bird species and other rare wildlife species.